![]() |


This is fake. The person who posted this is a huge troll on the battle.net forums. Blizzard would announce that beta invites have been given out before or as this was happening.
I’m quite dissapointed in SC Wire here. You should wait for more confirmation than just one forum poster before posting news such as this.
I got instant messaging sources from more than the troll. The SS is from the troll though.
Also, make sure you have opted in for beta keys. That SS was taken by ME, so I hope you trust me. ![]()
Regarding waiting for confirmation: That’s just generally not possible. You can trust SCW to have the LATEST first in almost all cases, and if it turns out to be fake, then we will be the first to report that as well.
Hey man.... does this mean you're in the beta? How long was it after you registered for them to invite you?
I believe the biggest reason to believe its fake, is because there has only been 1 person with picture evidence. If beta invites have gone out, there would be A LOT, more people saying they have it.
It’s probably fake and you should be much more careful about what you post and what title you give to the posts. You could at least say that “StarCraft II Beta Invites MIGHT Have Started”. Dissapointed by this rumor that is presented as fact.
Leord said the SS was taken by him, who we can probably trust. Either way, if I get a beta invite I'll post to help confirm this further.
@neo I think what Leord meant was the second SS was taken by him, and not the one that said that you can opt-in to the beta. When you sign up on us.battle.net there is a checkbox to be considered for future beta. It doesn't talk about Starcraft II, all it says is for future betas.
No, as I mentioned, the above screenshot is by accused "troll" Blazur. The second is mine (well, actually another MSN friend, but mine looked the same, so I used his - the difference is mine says "EU" instead of "US"). The second is a shot everyone should get. You can read my reasoning about the title name and article below.
@ SurDrake:
Copy of a copy does not have to suffer anything. It’s all a matter of level of compression. I agree though, I saw that pic, and it could very well be the same + some more games added. The reason I say that is because the first name that’s blacked out is very short.
It’s not impossible that it’s all fake though, which is something one always have to take into consideration with anything. Facts that made me choose to post it:
- It’s a very believable screenshot. No signs of tampering, and since I look at these things quite often, I’d say it’s even extremely well done fake, or real. Trolls are rarely that good with photo shop, unless they are known for their fake photoshop stuff.
- First SS was posted quite shortly after the Battle.net account was even known. A person would be extremely hard pressed to create a fake shot of that quality in so short time.
- A person on my MSN list got the same message, but disappeared before he could screenshot it. He could ofc have been mistaken, but it’s unlikely.
- Blizzard will invite perhaps one in 1000 or less (out of 10 million fans, that’s still 10,000 keys), especially in the beginning. The fact that there seem to only be 3 known cases (the two on B.net, and my contact) is not an argument for a hoax, since not many will have been registered yet.
- A fraction of SC fans visit Battle.net every day. All of Europe (besides me) and Asia is asleep. There will not have been that many people online yet.
- The opt-ins have started with the Battle.net opening, and Blizzard did not announce that.
- The same news item could have been posted with just the word “invite” and “opt-in” replaced, and it would have been as big of a news story. The difference between that “only” the opt-ins started and a few keys have been drawn isn’t huge.
Basically, in lack of a Blizzard source, I am a lot more picky with what stories I run with. It can still be a hoax, but the chance of it being real is large enough to post, and even if it IS fake, it’s still BIG news that the opt-ins have started!
If it’s an elaborate hoax, then SCW visitors will be the first to know!
I hope you feel more at ease with news from SCW
Oh yea, I don't have a problem with it anymore. It is this web sites job to report news as fast as it can and this is potential news. I guess I thought it should be reported more as a rumor than a news article, but then you said you'll edit it if it turns out to be false, and that work just fine. As for the legitimacy of the picture, it could go either way.
You got trolled Leord. You really should be a little bit more skeptical for front page updates.
They e-mail you when you get into one of their betas. And there will be a public announcement before the invites or it’ll be all over the forums. No news on the main Blizzard site, so that beta invite is fake.

W00t? It’s not fake? Noooooooo… I don’t have one :(